Clever

So I’ve been watching Mad Men, this season, and I’m pretty into it. Besides the show itself, one of the things that amuses me is the series of little ad/sales facts that AMC inserts before certain commercials from their advertisers. My favorite fact for today:

Every drop of Jack Daniel’s is made in Lynchburg, TN. Lynchburg is located in a dry county.

One of these days I’m going to have to go back and watch Season One, but so far it hasn’t been difficult to step right into the series. Thanks R and A for the recommendation!

Another thing I really like is the way the show ends – it always catches me unawares, right in the middle of a scene. I’m constantly surprised that the show is over; there’s no clever wrap-up, it just stops right in the middle of the action. It’s a great way to keep a viewer on the edge of their seat, primed for the next episode … the show ends with a questioning look or someone walking away after a significant conversation, and then I’m all, “Wait, what? Hold on, what happened? What happens next?”

I also like that the music from whatever that ending scene was carries over into the credits; it just keeps playing. There’s no standard closing credits theme. It’s just as if the scene is still going on, but somewhere you can’t see anymore and can only hear the background music for. It’s a little haunting, and intriguing.

One thought on “Clever”

  1. Dude. You must see season one. You’ll notice more little nuances and things that are unsaid between characters in S2. Just think, you get twice the Madmen-y goodness that I do because you haven’t seen the first season yet.

Leave a Reply

