A good day

As much as I complained about aspects of this conference, it was a good one, and this final day was the best. I was tired and not feeling well this morning, so I almost didn’t go, but I would have missed the chance to talk with other attendees about all the things I love: environmental justice, economic justice, sustainable food access, interdisciplinary cooperation. While I don’t agree with every perspective expressed, these are folks who are really concerned with trying to build good and just systems for our country and our world. I am actually excited about this organization, and the connections I’ll get to make through it. And then, finding my coat that had been lost in the hotel for two days was icing on the cake. 🙂

I was also glad to be able to show my mom part of what I do for a living, and what I get excited about. She came with me to the Friday awards dinner (featuring Jesse Jackson, and we sat at the table right in front of his seat on the dais) and heard about the different issues we’d been discussing; it inspired her, and she said she felt like “there really are people trying to make a difference.” I had great conversations with her and my dad all throughout the days I stayed with them, about politics and economics and the environment and all sorts of things. I really enjoyed being able to share that part of my life with them more than I usually do; I should do it as often as I can, because it’s fun and it makes our relationship deeper.

2 thoughts on “A good day”

  1. I’ve realized something — you’re like Peter Maurin (co-founder with Dorothy Day of the Catholic Workers. He was the philosopher, she rolled up her sleeves and did stuff.)He was extremely radical, and American society wasn’t ever going to remodel itself on his principles. But voices like that are extremely valuable because they help to shape the debate. Otherwise pragmatists like me bore everyone to death.So what I’m saying is, keep on keeping on. 🙂

  2. Thanks, I appreciate the encouragement – truly! I think “the philosopher” is a good way to describe me; I’ve always sort of regretted that that doesn’t seem like a viable job description anymore. 🙂You keep on yourself; idealists need pragmatists to help figure out the way to change in the non-ideal world we live in. So while we might butt heads, I’ll appreciate your honest critique – and your companionship on the pathways to righteousness!

Leave a Reply

