Movie Reviews

I’ve never yet commented on this blog about my love of movies, which seems surprising to me given how much I watch them. Next to my books, my healthy movie library is yet another reason why it’s very difficult to move from my current apartment. In my illness this weekend, I’ve been plowing through some old favorites and new hits, and it seems fitting on this Oscar night to offer my props to the world of cinema.

First of, I’d like to recommend the movie Talk to Me, with Don Cheadle and Chiwetel Eijofor. (I can spell his name, even if I can’t say it.) I’ve had this movie from Blockbuster Online forever, and I have no idea why I took so long to watch it; it was my loss all these weeks. In addition to being pretty hilarious and full of funky fashion, it’s a good reminder that it’s OK to speak the truth, and incredibly necessary in times of turmoil.

Next, to the Oscars themselves … my current reflections are as follows:

  1. Heath Ledger is too darn young to be in the dead Hollywood montage. Man, that still gets me.
  2. Jon Stewart is a mensch for giving the young woman who won Best Original Song with her partner a chance to give her thank you’s after she got cut off. Also, that song was beautiful!
  3. I have an unbelievable amount of movie watching to catch up on, as I think I’ve failed to see 75% of what’s been nominated here. Blockbuster Online, here I come!

That’s all, yo. Peace out!

Leave a Reply

